Music Camp and World Cup Cheerleading :]

World Cup after we got second.

  

“]
Displaying my Cheer Medals from Weekend wearing World Cup shirt. :

 

Holler! 🙂

So, I’ve had a pretty hectik week this week. Couple of assignments, hours upon hours of training, little sleep, but the thing I actually enjoy this week was the weekend. Not just becuase it was the weekend, but I actually had something on. 🙂 Most weekend I don’t do very much except sleep, eat, sleep and sometimes I’m awake; but this weekend was different. On the Friday and Saturaday I had Music Camp, and on the Sunday I had our first Cheerleading competition of the year. 🙂  

MUSIC CAMP. What can I say? It was heaps fun. 🙂 Most people would think, “Oh yeah, spend all day playing music until the cows come home. Big whoop?”. But quite frankly it was far from it. Yes, we did play alot of Music, but we worked on technique and putting the final touches on all our pieces for Fanfare coming up in 3 weeks. 🙂 For those who don’t know, a quick runover of the pieces(note:I play flute); FOR THOSE WHO HAVE GONE BEFORE -> To me this is a bit of a “cowboy” song, it reminds me of a bit of the weastern era. But there are a few pretty flute bits in there, of course that is if you can hear them over the blasting trumpets. VOICES OF THE SKY -> I L-O-V-E this piece. When we first got it, we took one look and thought, “Oh yeah, this should be easy”. WRONG! This was (at first) extremely difficult due to the high use of the upper register, andante (slow) tempo, and the exsessive use of overlapping melodies. I’m not sure about other instruments but to flutes, this proved a challenge. After a while, we worked heaps on this and over all it sounds EXTREMELY pretty. In the middle section we have this amazing bassoon part and WOAH it sounds awesome. 🙂 FLIGHT OF THE GRIFFIN -> A rather difficult piece, with lots of strange/different time signitures such as 5/8 and 6/8, one after another. Crazy. :S In the middle at the andante lirico we have this really mad flute solo/duet with Myself and the first flute. Once put together it sounds really nice, but at the same time its really low. :/ Oh well, it’s nice to have a solo/duet for once. 🙂  

On Friday night we had social activities. The highlight of the camp. 🙂 Good times, good times. 🙂 Scrambled eggs, which if you ask Chloe she’ss burst out laughing and say Spread your legs. Long story. 😛 Trivia with random questions like “How many teeth does an elephant have?”. Marshmellow eating contests, wheat-bix eating contest, tongues twisters and the Soda Water drinking relay. 🙂 I’m not going to go into too much detail, because this is going to be a rather long post but overall. It was heaps fun. 🙂  

CHEERLEADING COMPETION. SE Regionals World Cup. Wow. Not only had we been spending eveey sapar minute we had training for this, we weren’t even ready. One of our members got kicked of the team, so we had to re-choreograph all of our routines to make them look normal which took countless hours of effort. :/ And then the injuries set in; Lauren kept fainting everytime we finished to routine, Frances sprained her ankle, Laura wasn’t able to compete because she had to get an ultrasound on her heart and wasn’t able to exercise, Emily was feeling mega sick, Cahlua (who had previously broke her collar bone and bruised her rib) was having difficulty breathing and Sarah got really dizzy and almost fainted two second before the competition. Right before wecompeted, we were told that we were live worldwide, which made heaps of people really nervous. But anyways we nailed the routines and got second place in both divisions. 🙂 After the routine Lauren fainted and that scared everyone, but she woke up so *phew*. On the way home we had a maccas stop (oh yeah). Surprisingly Cheerleaders eat ALOT, well I do anyway. 😛 On the way home Cahlua fainted on me and we had to make a sidestop at the Ipswich Hospital. I got home at around 1-2 in the morning then I fell aspleep until 11:30 the next day. 🙂 But we’ll have heaps more Cheer comps like this to come and I’m looking forward to them. 🙂  

So as you can see, I’ve had a rather busy weekend. 🙂 But all the most enjoyable. 🙂  

-Hawkies out-  

About sleenii

Holler. :) Im Selina and I enjoy the greater things in life. Im know as a bit of an optimist although you don't wanna get on my nerves. My passion lies with my music, playing flute, gymnastics, dance and of course Cheerleading. ;) Im really easy to get along with, so yeah. Keep smiling. :]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment